Celebration?   5 comments

Should we be celebrating the death of Osama bin Laden?

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

So I won’t.

Listen to this guy (Bill Maher).

“Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannon drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. Hate multiplies hate, violence multiplies violence, and toughness multiplies toughness in a descending spiral of destruction. So when Jesus says “Love your enemies,” he is setting forth a profound and ultimately inescapable admonition. Have we not come to such an impasse in the modern world that we must love our enemies– or else? The chain reaction of evil–hate begetting hate, wars producing wars–must be broken, or we shall be plunged into the dark abyss of annihilation.” – Martin Luther King Junior

Posted May 19, 2011 by Ludicrousity in Uncategorized

5 responses to “Celebration?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOWee, scathingly brilliant. However being forever doomed to fall short of Jesus’ example am I only a fan?

    • I would say not. For me the point is intentionally ignoring part of Jesus teachings, and just taking the bits that suit you. I think that’s his point, and if it’s not, it’s mine.

  2. I cannot say I disagree (save for some bits in the latter half). It’s a shame that the only videos on matters like this that get any circulation are the ones done by smug, arrogant and mean-spirit left-wing comedians. You’d think there weren’t any Christians saying the exact same thing themselves. Actually, a lot of people do.

    I can’t help but think the reason for this is that we often get a sick pleasure out of seeing people we believe to be in the wrong “put in their place” in the cruelest way possible. I cannot imagine this stems from any healthy attributes in ourselves, especially nothing good.

    Or perhaps this is just my exposure to these trends.

    Still, he is probably the most ironic case of someone teaching Christians how to live. This is honestly the first time I’ve heard him say anything on the subject of Christianity that demonstrated any understanding at all.

    Shame about the attitude.

    • yeah, I went into it cringing at his smug arrogance without finding much to fault in his concepts. I like your insight into this phenomenom LG

    • I agree he has a terrible smug attitude, but it was more the content I was interested in showing. And also I don’t agree entirely with the latter part of the video, but I thought there was enough truth in it to post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

