I now live in Hamilton

That’s right, I now live in Hamilton.  I’ve been here for 6 days now.  And I was without the internet for 4 of those days!  Given my addiction to the internet it was weird that I hardly noticed it.  Strange, but nice!

I have a nice 2 bedroom unit which I’m very happy with.  Once I finish unpacking (which I’ve done most of) I’ll take you on a video tour of the place.  I have great neighbours too thankfully.  I’m in the third unit of 3.  The other two units both have single women in them who seem just lovely.  I presume they’re my age or a little older.  I’ll have them over for dinner soon and get to know them a bit better.

Hamilton is a really nice place.  It’s a rather wealthy farming area and it shows!  For a town with a population of 10k it certainly has an awful lot of stuff.  It seems quite disproportionate.  It has more shops than Whyalla which has a population of 30k!  I’ve taken a bit of a drive around to try and get a feel for the place and it really is quite lovely.  It’s quite a flat town, but it is right near the Grampians, so  there are lovely mountain views on the Eastern side of town, and lots of stunning fields everywhere else.

I’ve been into work a couple of times to get some stuff to start prepping before I start.  I’m so impressed with the school.  It seems like an incredible place and I’m feeling really supported already!  The vice principal has been wonderful and very helpful.  I’m looking forward to work starting.  I start officially on Monday for a week of meetings and PD’s.  The kids start back the following Monday (Feb 7).  I’ll take some photos of the school when I’m there.  It’s such a beautiful place!  It’s on a huge 100 acre property on the edge of town.  It’s truly beautiful.  My parents were very impressed when I took them there to show them around.  In case you’re not sure what I’ll be teaching:  I have 7, 8, 9, 11 Maths and 8 SOSE.

I don’t think I have much else to share.  Life is good so far.  I’m very much enjoying living on my own.  I think life will get a bit more interesting once school starts and I find a church to join.  Both those things will help me to meet people.  At the moment I don’t know anyone!  It’s Australia day and I’m sitting at home on my own listening to Triple J’s hottest 100 (an annual tradition!) and blogging…  Not the most thrilling Australia day I’ve ever had, but it’ll do for now.

To sum up, life is good.  If you’d like my new address or home phone number just email me/text me and I’ll pass it on.

This is me sitting at home on my own on Australia day…

4 Replies to “I now live in Hamilton”

  1. Hey Megan,

    I’m so excited you’ve got a job and a place to stay.

    Looking forward to keeping up with your adventures in Hamilton.

    God Bless ya stacks.

    Marty

Leave a Reply

