Capril To Me Is…

Here is my post from the Capril website:

It’s time I wrote about Capril from my own perspective.  It’s been wonderful having so many contributers to Capril this year, so I thought I’d take the opportunity to share with you what it means to me.

As a lot of people, I was a huge fan of ‘Get This’ and I got on board Capril as a joke originally.  After the tragic loss of Richard Marsland I was shocked and upset.  I had only met the man a few times but he was a genuinely beautiful person.  The first time I met him was in a huge group of people and we only spoke for a few minutes.  The next time I saw him was the very next night and he remembered exactly who I was, last name and all.  I was blown away by this.  His attention to people was inspiring.  He was actually interested in other people and made the effort to make them feel good about themselves.  He was a very encouraging man.  Someone I aspire to be like.

The night Richard took his own life I was out with some friends when I got a phone call from Lachy Hulme telling me I was about to hear about it on the news.  I was stunned.  I didn’t know what to say.  Richard?  How?  He was such a delight to be around, so good at what he did, such a talented and good man.  I was speechless.  If depression could overcome Richard, then no one is immune.

I watched, listened and shed some tears while tributes poured in for him, from those that knew him and from thousands that didn’t.  It was amazing to see how many lives he’d touched and how many people felt connected to him, whether through personal contact, or just by listening to him on the radio.

I had the privilege of being at Richard’s memorial night at the espy in Melbourne.  What a beautiful time.  It was filled with a huge mixture of people.  People from TV, radio, movies, relatives, friends, everyone.  There was speech after speech of stories about the joy Richard brought to everyone he met.  Clips of his work, stories from both his work and from behind the scenes.  Everyone adored the man.  His mum spoke of his long running battle with depression and how it finally won overcame him.  She prayed he was now at peace.

When Angus decided to carry on Capril in Richard’s memory I wanted to help out.  I did some online promotion for it, and just generally supported the cause.  After this Angus asked me if I’d like to get on board with running the Capril event.  Of course I wanted to!  What a valuable thing to do with my time and resources!  So this year we have ramped up Capril to really make it an event.  I’ve done so many radio interviews I’ve lost count.  We’ve had articles in newspapers, and events running all over the country.  It’s been so wonderful to see how Capril has grown into a small movement, fighting depression a little bit at a time.  I’m really excited to see how it will develop over the next few years.

Thankfully I’ve never had to live with depression, but I know many people who have.  I think it’s so important to get rid of both the stigmas, and the misconceptions associated with depression and other mental illness’.  That is what Capril is.  Yes, it’s about raising funds to support the valuable work of beyondblue: the national depression initiative (click here to donate), but it’s also about raising public awareness, and about giving people an opportunity to share their experiences.  We are not here to reinvent the wheel, but we are here to point people in the right direction to get the help they need.  There is always help available.  Always.  There is hope.

Please go to the website of beyondblue: the national depression initiative if you need any help at all, or if you want to know how to support those living with depression.

One Reply to “Capril To Me Is…”

  1. I remember when you got that call. It was… surreal.

    Depression is a powerfully sneaky force. By nature it seems to cause those who suffer from it to suffer quietly.

    I’m so proud of you, Sis. Capril is one helluva cause to take up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

