It’s Just Wrong!

On Friday I went on an excursion to see the Tutankhamun exhibition in Melbourne with my year 8 SOSE class.  It was a really great day, but a really long day!  It took 4 hours to get there, then we spent 4 hours there, then it took 4 hours to get home again!  We left at 7am and got back at 7pm.  Like I said, a really long day!  The kids were great though.  I have such awesome students!  The year 7 SOSE class came with us too, as did their teacher.

Now for the thing that is just wrong.  It happened when we were dropping kids off.  A lot of our kids come from surrounding towns and catch the bus to school, so we dropped a few of them off along the way back.  We dropped a year 7 boy off who lives on a huge property and when we dropped him off, he got in a car that was parked at the front of the driveway AND HE DROVE TO HIS HOUSE!*  We left a year 7 boy to drive a car on his own!  As a city girl that weirded me out and would break all sorts of duty of care laws!  I know it’s totally fine out here, but I still can’t get my head around it.  The kids were laughing at me thinking I was so silly, but where I come from, letting a year 7 drive is insane!  Most of them learn to drive around their properties as soon as they can reach the pedals.  But still, it freaked me out.

 

*His driveway was about a kilometre.

5 Replies to “It’s Just Wrong!”

  1. I wonder if legally a 7 year old would be allowed to drive in the Burnley Tunnel which is technically a private road. The Swiss backpacker who skateboarded through it wasn’t charged with illegally riding through it but “reckless conduct endangering serious injury”.

Leave a Reply

