Maggie

Yesterday was one of the hardest days of my life.

On Friday night my mum told me on the phone that they were going to have our 16 year old dog Maggie put down.  She was almost completely deaf, half blind, arthritis all through her back legs, and she threw up almost every meal.  This meant that she was incredibly skinny because she couldn’t keep her food down.  You could feel her spine and see her ribs.  She spent most of her time sleeping and had very little energy.  She was also going to the toilet all over the house for the last few months.

I know it was a humane thing to do, but I am still utterly devastated.  She has been such an integral part of my life for more than half my life.  I simply adore her and I can’t believe that she’s gone.  The idea of never seeing her again hasn’t sunk in.

It was very quick and very peaceful.  We all went to the vet together yesterday and she simply went to sleep.  Regardless of how humane it was, it’s still so hard to deal with.

I decided to drive down to Melbourne to spend her last day with her and I’m so glad that I did.  I took her for a walk, which she absolutely loves.  This took a very long time because she’s so slow, but that’s ok.  Then I just sat with her at home while she had a rest.  I had a few hours with her before we went to the vet.  The vet was lovely.  He was patient and compassionate.

I am so grateful for her life and for the impact she’s had on me.  I miss her terribly and it will take a while to go through the grieving process.  She loved us and she knew she was loved.  I am thankful for her life.

2 Replies to “Maggie”

  1. megan im so very sorry that maggie had to leave you. she was such a special puppy and i know you will miss her greatly. im glad you got to spend some time with her and say goodbye. xxx

Leave a Reply

