Days 32 & 33

Day 32 wasn’t spent in London. Jenny & I took a train to Cambridge (about an hour north) to see what all the fuss is about. The fuss is definitely warranted. We loved Cambridge! It’s a stunning town with the university spread all through it. It was cold and covered in snow, but it was a lovely sunny day. We spent hours wandering round and looking at the shops as well as some of the university colleges. I wish I could go back in time and go to university in Cambridge (and live on campus). I’d go see the Footlights every week and join a band. If you don’t know what the Footlights are, they’re the Cambridge drama group that have turned out the likes of Rowan Atkinson, Stephen Fry, David Mitchell, Robert Webb, Hugh Laurie & Emma Thompson. There are lots of shops and things to do as well as just being a stunning town.

20130118-185510.jpg

20130118-185527.jpg

20130118-185546.jpg
We came back to London that evening and had dinner at Kathryn’s place with Jenny’s brother Marc. Kathryn over-catered as usual but it was delicious.

Today (day 33) was also excellent but it’s been snowing non stop. It does make it rather beautiful though. This is what I saw when I walked out the front door this morning.

20130118-190619.jpg
I met Jenny for high tea at 11am at Harrods. So amazing. We had fantastic tea that is unique to Harrods and amazing yummy little cakes. So English.

20130118-190827.jpg
After that we headed to Oxford St to do some more shopping. I bought the last of my presents so I’m happy about that. I also bought fun things for me 🙂
I bought a hat to keep my head warm from all the snow. I also wanted Kathryn to buy these fun glasses. But she sadly did not.

20130118-191616.jpg

20130118-191624.jpg
Also a guy asked me to be his girlfriend today. Which was clearly lovely. I politely declined.

Now I’m back at Kathryn’s place waiting for a friend of hers to come over and then we’ll have leftovers from last night, because as previous stated, Kathryn over-catered. At least it’ll be good leftovers!

Tomorrow is my last proper day here as Sunday will basically be packing and going to the airport for a lunchtime flight. Tomorrow I’m going on a tour of the Houses of Parliament in the morning and catching up with a friend in the afternoon.

I DON’T WANT TO GO HOME!!!
I mean, I do love my home, but I love this holiday! I’m not ready for it to end yet. However I do miss my own bed… I don’t want to live here, but I’m having such a brilliant time!

Leave a Reply

