Reading & Writing

img_7378-stack-of-books-q67-303x500I’m a big reader, in case you didn’t know that about me already.  I always have a physical book and an audiobook on the go at any given time.  I adore good literature.  I love the way words can be used to draw me into another world.  Words grab something inside of you and let you go places without actually going anywhere.  Books help you learn from others, to feel what they feel and to know what it’s like to be them.  Sometimes books are informative and they help you grow and learn, sometimes books are escapism, sometimes they’re just plain fun.

Part of being a lover of words for me is the desire to write.  I truly enjoy writing.  The creativity is liberating.  So that’s what I’ve started doing again.  I’m writing.  I wrote a short story last year for the first time in a very long time.  If you’re interested, here it is.  The story I’m writing now is nothing like I’ve ever written before, but I’m really enjoying the process.  The story is actually done, now comes all the editing.  I swear I’ve read over this thing at least 20 times, but there are always things to change.  I’m  enjoying the editing process too, something I never really liked before.  I’m wholly engaged in my work and the constant editing helps draw me deeper into the lives of the characters.  How fun!

I feel like I understand these characters.  I’m taking a journey with them and exploring who they are, what they’ve been through and what they’ll do next.  I almost never want to finish the story because then our journey will be over.  But then I can start a new journey with new characters!

 

Leave a Reply

