It’s Time…

Today is my last day in Australia.  Oh how melodramatic I sound!

But seriously, I’m feeling nervous.

So far it hasn’t felt real, until yesterday.  Yesterday was when it actually hit me.  I’m moving to another country where I don’t know anyone, I don’t speak the language, and I’ll be teaching in an unfamiliar educational system.  Aaaaaaaand that’s when the stress set in.  Oh yes.  Yesterday the stress entered my life like a wreeeeeeecking baaaaalllllllll!  And now you have that stuck in your head, so… you’re welcome.

futurama-fry_00367942Yesterday I got grumpy, stressed and weepy.  I even cried on the train on my way into the city.  I’m sure that was a great look.  And it was my farewell dinner/drinks in the city last night.  Unfortunately I was in the least social mood I’ve been in for a ridiculously long time.  I’m almost always in a social mood!  I hate that I spent my last night with my friends feeling anti-social and not having the energy to engage with people.  That’s not the way I wanted to leave things, but it was still nice to be surrounded by those I love and spend some time together.

I’m feeling a little better today, but I’m still under slept and feeling a bit stressy.  Not as stressy as yesterday, but there are still HOURS to go!  Oh goody!  I’m going out for dinner with my family tonight (Mmmm… Thai food…), which will be lovely.

My luggage is looking about 5kg over the limit, but I’m hoping they’ll let it slide if I tell them I’m going off to volunteer full time.  I’m all about the emotional manipulation.  Also I have to get up at 4am tomorrow, so I’m sure I won’t be tired and weepy at the airport at all…

I’m excited about the next part of my adventure, but I’m also sad to leave behind my family and friends and head off into the unknown.  I know I’ll have a great time (interspersed with some hard times) and be enriched by my new experiences.  It’s something that’s worth doing, and it’s something I want to do.  I just need to take a few deep breaths…

photoMum bought me some very important supplies this morning!

I’m sure this was one of my least coherent blog posts, but you’ll excuse me and my stress.  Oh and I’m DEFINITELY not writing a blog post to procrastinate packing.  Definitely not…

4 Replies to “It’s Time…”

  1. I don’t blame you for being nervous. I would be too. In fact, I’m getting nervous just reading your post…and I’m not the one going anywhere!

    If you ever need someone to talk to, feel free to email, twitter, facebook or call. Or, if there are any books you’d like to borrow, just yell and I’ll send them over to you once I’m finished!

    I was going to say “good luck” but you’ll be fine. You won’t need luck at all! I’m really looking forward to hearing about your adventures!

    (also, now I have Wrecking Ball in my head – thanks a BUNCH!)

    Take care,

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

