Goodbye Singapore

IMG_4004It’s my last day in Singapore.  I can’t tell whether I’m happy to be leaving or not.  This is the first time I’ve travelled internationally alone and I haven’t enjoyed it.  I’ll try to avoid it in the future if I can.  However, there have been some great things about being in a developed country again; good public transport, easy access to shops, English, comforts, etc.  I went to Ikea on Tuesday, which was amazing!  I limited myself and only bought what I needed.  Also, the limiting was mostly due to the fact that it all had to fit in my suitcase!  I came here with hardly anything in my suitcase so I could fill it up with things I needed (and also a few things that other people asked me to get for them).

I’m so glad I moved hotels after that first night (not that the first place was a hotel as such).  The one in Chinatown is in a fantastic location, right in the middle of things, so I’ve had easy access to food and public transport.  It’s been nice to be able to go downstairs and immediately be surrounded by markets and restaurants.  Although that does mean it’s not the quietest hotel in the world, but I’ve had no problem sleeping.  The photo below is from the window of my third floor room.  There is only one floor actually, the floor below is a restaurant.

I’ve managed to get my visa.  Phew!  I picked it up yesterday afternoon.  I’ll still have to leave the country again at the end of the semester to (hopefully) get my proper work visa.  This visa still doesn’t allow me to work.  Very frustrating.  I had to go to the embassy 3 times in 3 days, but it’s all sorted now.

IMG_4014Sadly I didn’t get to do a lot of touristy things, but frankly I wasn’t really in the mood.  I’ve wandered around some shops and taken it easy, which I’m happy with.  Running around to visit touristy things wouldn’t have been enjoyable for me in my present head space anyway.

I take a flight back to Indonesia tonight and arrive at 8:40am back in Sentani.  And guess what day that is?  March 7th.  My birthday.  I’m going to be so awake and happy…

I’m struggling in Indonesia at the moment.  I’ve been here for 2 months now, and I know that’s about the time that culture shock starts to set in.  It’s setting in.  Blerg.

Leave a Reply

