I’m Still Here!

IMG_4603I wrote this a couple of days ago, but I’ve had trouble uploading the photos, so pretend we’re going back in time!  Yay!  Time travel!

It’s been over a month since I last blogged.  I think that’s the longest I’ve gone without blogging since… well… ever!  So here we go!

School has 3 weeks left, which is very strange!  I’m not used to the school year ending mid-year.  I’ll be sad to see some of my wonderful seniors head overseas to go to uni/college.  Just as I’m getting to know them!  It’s also really disappointing for me that some of the friends I’ve made here are going back to their respective countries after this semester.  A ridiculous amount of them are leaving actually 😦

A couple of weeks ago I headed away on an overnight trip with the year 8s.  We went to Jayapura and did a scavenger hunt and smashed into each other in bumper cars.  None of this bother with safety laws either!  They were some pretty mean bumper cars!  Fun though 🙂  The next day we headed to Lake Sentani and hung out on a little island while people took it in turns to go tubing on a couple of boats some parents had bought along.  It was good to get to know some of the year 8s a little better coz I’ll be teaching most of them next year in Algebra 1.  Here are a couple of photos from the lake.

IMG_4607

 

IMG_4705

As you can see from the very first photo I went to the beach again in April.  I love the beaches around here, but they’re not easy to get to.  The roads here are awful so it takes forever to get anywhere.  And when you arrive you have the worst headache…  But lying on a beach usually cures that 🙂  I’m off to a different beach tomorrow (this was actually yesterday, photos to come some other time).  Should be fun!  This is a photo from a beach I went to a couple of weeks ago.  We did some great snorkelling and I got sunburnt.  Oops.

IMG_4605

IMG_4684Taxis here (apart from being ridiculously cheap) aren’t exactly concerned with safety.  There are no seat belts, and you just squeeze as many people in as possible.  The ones in Sentani have doors that close, but the ones in Jayapura have doors that are permanently open, which you would think would be disconcerting, but it’s really not.  This photo is of me with some of the year 8s crammed into a taxi a couple of weeks ago.  I also have a couple of 15 second videos shot through the open door to show you what it’s like in Jayapura.  That’s the biggest city near us.  Here are the links.

First video:  http://instagram.com/p/nfMQhgkYEu/

Second video:  http://instagram.com/p/nfMcMOEYE2/

You can have a look at a lot more of my stuff on Instagram here:  http://instagram.com/ludicrousity

IMG_4628

 

Easter here was nice.  About 100 of us went to the McFarlane’s place up on the next hill and had a dawn service in their lovely yard.  This photo is looking sideways up to the mountain.  It really was beautiful.

On Good Friday the Aussies all got together for a BBQ.  It’s nice to get together as Aussies sometimes.  We don’t do it that often, but it’s nice when we do.  There are 9 adults and 11 kids when we’re all here.

This next  photo is of a river behind the Swan’s place (where we were on Good Friday).  It really is lovely.  Lots of people bathe there and wash their clothes.  You can see some Indonesian kids in the photo who were having a swim.  The rest of our group is a bit further down on the right.

 

 

IMG_4577

 

IMG_4544I was mightily impressed with some of my wonderful friends who turned up to my house in capes during April!  They’d found out about Capril online so decided to get into the spirit!  It was brilliant!  If you don’t know what Capril is, you can read up on it here.

This week I was given a bread maker to borrow.  Whooo!!!!!  The bread here is just awful, it’s really sweet and weird.  I won’t eat it (a lot of westerners here won’t) so I’ve been making my own by hand, which is a rather time consuming process.  You can’t buy bread makers here, so anyone who has one has brought it into the country.  It’ll be so nice to have the ease of a bread maker, just throw in the ingredients and walk away!  I’ve got my first loaf in there right now.  Yummo! (Addition, the bread was fantastic!)

 

 

 

 

photoOnce school finishes I’ll be spending a couple of weeks here studying for a uni exam on June 10 before heading to Thailand for 2 or 3 weeks!  I have to leave the country for visa reasons, so I chose a place that’s close and cheap, and it doesn’t hurt that Thailand has wonderful food, markets and beaches!  I’m looking forward to getting away and relaxing for a while.  I’m also looking forward to seeing some friends from Australia who are coming to join me there.  Yay!

All in all I’m finding my feet here.  It certainly has been a massive adjustment and at times it hasn’t been easy, but I’m figuring out where I fit in this new life.  Thanks again to everyone who has supported me in a variety of ways and made an effort to keep in touch.  Love to you all!

3 Replies to “I’m Still Here!”

  1. love the photos, I hope you are having a great time, we all miss you here!Today we had a math lesson in your old room, it was so weird not having you for maths in that room! I hope your holidays are great!

Leave a Reply

