Still Here

My blog entries seem to be few and far between these days.  One of these reasons is that I don’t want to repeat myself and I’m not sure how much new information I have to share, another reason is not one I can share publicly, hence the not sharing.  Email me if you’re confused about what I mean.

IMG_2760

Life here is still plodding along.  It’s a fair mixture of good and bad.  Good in that I love the people I’m surrounded by and I truly love what I do.  Bad in that I’m surrounded by poverty and social problems.  Everything here is broken, and when it gets fixed it doesn’t remain fixed for long (the roads are a great example of this).

People here live in very basic housing.  My house is fantastic by Indonesian standards, but if I looked at a place like mine in Australia there is no way I’d live there!  I have very different standards here!  Everything is relative.  I’m including photos of pretty standard Indonesian housing so you can get a bit of a feel for how people live.  It’s so hard to show you what it’s like here using only photos.  If anyone wants to come and visit and see it for themselves they’d be more than welcome 🙂

IMG_7477

Shopping is always an ordeal.  Fresh produce here can be iffy at the best of times.  It’s usually really good at the local market, but at the shops it can be pretty dodgy.  There are bugs and flies and all sort of things crawling on them and you have to wash everything thoroughly to make sure you don’t get sick.  Eating raw veggies can be problematic.  Also, you can’t find half the things you want.  I’ve had to learn a completely new set of recipes because I can’t buy most of the things I want.  I can no longer get zucchini, mushrooms, broccoli, coriander, chives and many, many other things.  It makes me sad.  I also used to eat some seafood, but not here.  I don’t trust it.  I’m getting very sick of Indonesian food because there isn’t a huge variety.

IMG_7518

One thing I haven’t shared is that I’m going to Korea in a few weeks!  There is an international teacher’s conference that 10 of us are going to.  I can’t wait!  It’ll be nice to be in a western country for a while.  I’m looking forward to things that work, public transport and different food!  I’ve never been to Korea, so I’m heaps excited about going!  It’ll also be a nice mental health break to be somewhere where life is easy.  Easy is not a description I would use for life in Papua.

Things are still going well here, but there are always challenges to living in a developing nation.

Leave a Reply

