Goodbye 2014

Well, there are only a few more hours left of 2014.

This has been one of the biggest years of my entire life.

(This is my house)

IMG_8435

I moved to a country I’d never been to before, to a place where I didn’t know a soul, to a new job, to a new education system, to a new (and very different) culture, to a new climate, to a new… everything basically.

It has been both horribly difficult and truly amazing.

But with all the ups and downs, I don’t regret moving here for a second.

IMG_8571

God moved me here for a reason.  I love my job and I’m so glad I’ve had the opportunity to live and serve in such a different place.  These experiences have been good for me; I have learnt a lot and grown as a person, and hopefully I’ve made a valuable contribution in return.  I am so grateful for the people here that have had input into my life and have helped me transition into a new experience.  I am very blessed, by both God and others.  Some of these great people are here in these photos from Christmas day.  Lunch with one set of people and dinner with another.  I have so appreciated these people in my life.  Truly.

IMG_8578

Life has been tricky, from having my bank details stolen and my account emptied, to not always being physically safe.  There have been some serious issues as well as some annoyances (such as constant noise pollution and horrific roads), but they have all shaped my life here and allowed me to experience new things.

I miss my people back home, and being away for Christmas was kind of sad, but it was nice to chat to my family on Christmas day, even though the connection was awful and our conversation was rather confusing as a result 🙂

The Aussies here put together a ‘Carols by Candlelight’ night on Christmas Eve, something Americans don’t due (due to the weather they have at Christmas time).  It was such a great night!  I played in a brass quartet and about 170 people came and sang songs together.  It was nice to do something familiar.  It’s been great having a small contingent of Aussie here to share things with.  Sometimes it’s nice to spend time with people from your own culture.  It can be less exhausting.

IMG_8456

Part of the difficultly in living here is my being an extrovert.  I love to be surrounded by people and I love having lots of things to do.  There is nothing to do here… that drives me a little nuts.  Also the fact that lots of people go away during the breaks isn’t awesome for me.  I’m going to Wamena next week, so that’ll be good.  It’ll be nice to see another, even more rural, part of Indonesia.  Lots of my students’ parents live out there.  I’ll take plenty of photos!

IMG_8419

I still haven’t made a final decision about whether to leave here in June 2015 or June 2016, but I’m leaning one way.  I’ve told myself I’ll make a final decision by the time school resumes in two weeks.  Eeeeeeeeeep!  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

