Exploring

I’ve had a really cool time recently exploring more of life here; there’s always more to see!  Last weekend I went with some friends to a nearby island to have lunch with some locals they knew.  It was so interesting seeing a coastal kampung (village/settlement), not having spent much time in one before myself. There was no electricity or clean water, so you can imagine that life can be hard there.  It was beautiful and sad all at once.

I also went for a drive around part of Lake Sentani with a friend yesterday, just enjoying the views and the lake culture.  People are so friendly there, always waving and smiling.

I’ve also enjoyed spending time hiking around parts of Lake Sentani with friends, often watching the sunset.  It’s absolutely stunning.

The rest of this post is just going to be photos, showing you what life here looks like.

IMG_3039
Part of the coast of Jayapura (Papua’s capital)
IMG_3040
Arriving at the island
IMG_3045
Having lunch.  That goopy stuff you can see is papeda.  I don’t like it much…  That’s my knee you can see on the left!

 

IMG_3048
Local housing
IMG_3108
A kampung in Jayapura
IMG_2814
Local street in Sentani that I drive past on my way to get petrol, some friends of mine live down there
IMG_2209
Part of the markets where I get most of my fresh produce
IMG_3174
Some more outdoor markets I often pass on my way to the lake
FullSizeRender
Local police
IMG_3117
Batik shopping.  They have such beautiful material!
IMG_2226
Long exposure.  Sentani by night
IMG_2398
Hanging out at Lake Sentani with some friends
IMG_2343
Lake Sentani
IMG_2447
Hiking around Lake Sentani
IMG_2892
More Lake Sentani
FullSizeRender-2
Hanging out at Lake Sentani

I hope this helps you picture some of my life here in Indonesia 🙂

 

2 Replies to “Exploring”

Leave a Reply

