Fitting In

It’s a strange thing to not know where you fit.

IMG_5596

I’m about to move back to Melbourne, a place I haven’t lived in for 6.5 years.  My friends have moved on, they’ve changed.  I’ve moved on, I’ve changed.  My friends have kids who either don’t really remember me, or don’t know me at all.  Relationships have broken up and new ones have formed, so some people have left our friendship circle and others have joined.

IMG_3252

How do we do life together again when we haven’t been a part of each other’s routines for so long?  It’ll be different, and that’s ok, but it’s kind of intimidating to be moving back to a place where I no longer quite fit.  I still value my friendships and want to continue them, but they’re going to look different to the way they used to.  That’s ok, but the unknown is weird. How do I reinsert myself into other people’s lives whilst recognising they’ve been living and growing without me for so long?

IMG_6143

We don’t have routines and patterns together anymore, and establishing new ones is going to take time, and intentional effort.  We are used to living our lives separately, now I want to reconnect in a meaningful and regular way.

IMG_3109

I think we’re all going to have to go through a process of getting to know each other again.  That sounds a little exhausting, but worth doing.  I hope everyone else wants to do that too 🙂

Leave a Reply

