The Best Laid Plans…

I decided to blog, opened a new post, went to begin, and lost all motivation to write…

That’s a good representation of my current state of mind.

On Monday I left Melbourne to go to my other home.  I thought it was going to be a  straightforward, albeit a slow journey (26 hours, my longest yet), but apparently that was too optimistic.  I arrived in Bali and they wouldn’t let me through immigration because my visa had expired.  This was new information as everyone thought it had been renewed, but apparently my renewal slipped through the cracks.  The 10 hour layover in Bali turned into a 24 hour one before I left for Singapore to get a new visa.

That is where I am now, in Singapore, with a new visa 3 days later.  My 2 day return voyage has turned into a 6 day extravaganza.

IMG_0752
A photo from yesterday

Life is complicated in the midst of changing homes, preparing to move countries, changing friends, the stress of travel, taking baggage for multiple others, missing the two staffing days before I start teaching, having time to unpack and set up my new house, and many other things.  I did not need this extra complication in my life, but here we are.  I’m generally quite a flexible, low stress person, but this has added an extra level of complication that I don’t want.  It’s not like I’m not freaking out and smashing things, but sometimes life doesn’t go the way we expect, and that’s ok.

IMG_0721
Final night with my family

The day before I left Oz I was at church and we were singing ‘It Is Well‘; it was a perfectly apt song for the significant transition of moving countries.  At the time I entered into the song knowing that God was with me always; this thought stills me and allows me to move through anything.  Now I find myself clinging to it.

To say ‘it is well’ requires a level of stillness.  I need to stop.  Breathe.  Think about the meaning of it.

It is well.

It truly is well with my soul.

It doesn’t matter where I am, what I’m doing, what is going wrong, who messes up, what I do wrong, what I do right, or what I get partially right.

I have a smile on my face as I write this.

God is still God.

It is well with my soul.

Tomorrow afternoon I leave Singapore to head back to Indonesia.  I’ll be home on Saturday morning.  It doesn’t matter where I am, I can always say ‘it is well’.

 

Side note:  One of the wonderful benefits of having to reroute to Singapore was seeing some ex-students.  Esther & Faith are such amazing women and I’m so glad we got to spend some time together!

IMG_0779

6 Replies to “The Best Laid Plans…”

  1. Oh my giddy aunt! You are a true blessing! See how Creator takes our stuff and grows our roots deeeeep into the soil of His LOVE. Indeed…it is well 🤗☝️💜🎵

Leave a Reply

